Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-07-2007, 07:53 PM   #1

Share |

How much of house building to DIY

I've bought some acerage with a small new unfinished cabin that we plan on using for weekend getaways but plan to build a home for retirement. I'm 50 now and don't plan on retiring for another 10 yrs or so. We have another house we live in now so there is no rush to complete this retirement home, so I have the luxury of the next ten years to complete this project. I have no home buiding background but have always done precise careful work when I've had tile, drywall, fencing jobs around the house. We are thinking of building a 2 story adobe style house(stucco) with a slab foundation and a square footage of around 2400. The land is in the country so we can build any style we want but really like the feel of the adobe. The land is in southeast Oklahoma. I would like to do as much as possible in the building process. One to save money but I would also enjoy the experience( I have no hobbies right now).

My question: Is it wise for someone with my lack of experience to consider taking on too much and what's too much. Obviously for most jobs I would need some guidance. Are there particular books on construction that you would recommend. Which project are best left to the professionals and which are more compatible for DIY. Is it advisable to hire a qualified construction worker in whatever phase your currently working as a mentor.

Any suggestions or advise is appreciated...Thanks

HOMEDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:52 AM   #2