DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete

41K views 9 replies 3 participants last post by  earthad1 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I've been looking for directions on how to install 2" Rigid foam insulation to the exterior walls of my foundation in order for Perma Crete to warranty work I want to hire them for to seal up a crack I have in my foundation (they will not warranty their work unless I insulate first).

I found the below article and was wondering if anyone with experience in this sort of thing has anything to add, or objections to the method proposed below. I did notice that it does not tell me how deep I should insulate and I don't quite understand why I need to use these "self tapping concrete screws with washers". I thought you just needed to glue these boards on with a good quality adhesive. Needless to say, I'm a little nervous with the idea of adding holes in the concrete since I have no experience with this stuff.

Also, when filling the hole back up, I was wondering if its a good idea to make a slight slope going away from the foundation and putting down some nice thick plastic as was proposed in this thread: http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/opinions-wanted-foundation-trench-sketch-39655/ I figure since I'm down there I may as well do everything I can to divert water...

I'm assuming I can skip steps 6 and 7 as they seem to apply solely for interior applications.

As usual, any assistance is appreciated.

Thanks all!!! :thumbup:

How To Install Rigid Foam Insulation on Concrete

Things You’ll Need:

• Hand saw or cut-out saw Tape measure Marking instrument, such as a pencil Hammer Self-tapping concrete screws and washers Fiberglass tape Adhesive Furring strips Concrete water sealer
Step1