Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-12-2006, 03:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How to get a rough quote on a basement??

Ok i wrote the last thread asking about a rough price and was told to go get a quote from a professional. How do you get a quote if they wont give me one. See I talked to 5 people so far on the phone and they only do on site quotes. See I dont have a site yet. I have to bounce a lot of large figures on paper to make sure I can afford it. I have one guys web site that i called and tried to talk to but they told me its on site with plans or nothing. Wouldnt even give a ball park figure http://www.formspecinc.com/. I am a carpenter by trade and plan to do the rough and finish myself along with the electrical and plumbing and gas. I have the plans all drawn up right now with all the prices for the floor and roof trusses along with all the other material needed to build. The 2 Things I havent gotten even a ball park quote on is the basement and 2 I-Beams. So the basement is the last thing on the list and I dont know why it is so hard to find a quote on a basement. So what I need to know is how the heck do i get a quote when they wont give it to me. Im in Michigan north of Detroit does anyone knwo anyone that gives quotes out? Im stuck cause on one hand if i buy the land then the basement cost to much im stuck with the land. Dont knwo if anyone understand what im talking about anymore?? lol. Well let me knwo what your thoughts are guys on this issue.

cloudkicker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 05:37 PM   #2
Contractor

Rewards Points: 75

Do you do any work for GC's that might let you in on what they are paying for walls?

Most of the GC's I do work for would be willing to meet with me at their office and run through a project or two to get a general idea about costs.

Tom

www.gebcon.com