Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 09:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Share |
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


Okay, I have a newbie question I'm embarrased I've never run into.

I have a very small room closet that I'm framing, and I have a small corner around a pole that takes up too much room. I don't want to lose another two inches of space by putting the studs the standard parallel way on the side closest to the doorway.

Short of ripping a stud as a bottom and top plate, is there another way to frame it so that I can put the vertical stud sideways so it takes up a little less space.

When I lay down a regular stud and then put the sideways stud on the outside, the outside corner looks good, but the inside part near the pole has an inch or more (the difference between the depth of a piece of wood and it's width) of wood visible at the top and bottom.

jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


Use a 2x2 as the bottom plate.
What's the issue with ripping a piece of wood down to a 2x2? This is a simple solution to the problem.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


If I rip a 2x4 it'll split securing the stud plate to the cement unless i pre drill everything (I dont have a ramset), which would take a lot longer.

I'll try the 2x2 though, maybe with its pressured sides it wont split.

Thanks for your help!
jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 08:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm001 View Post
If I rip a 2x4 it'll split securing the stud plate to the cement unless i pre drill everything (I dont have a ramset), which would take a lot longer.

I'll try the 2x2 though, maybe with its pressured sides it wont split.

Thanks for your help!
If you need to drill pilot holes, drill pilot holes. You act as though doing the correct procedures is more effort then you think is worth your time.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
Willie T (07-10-2010)
Old 07-10-2010, 09:03 PM   #5
Old School
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.
Posts: 3,634
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


You know how people say, "They just don't build 'em like they used to."? It's because in the days of yore, builders just accepted that there was a right way to go ahead and build something......... and then there were substandard shortcuts.

It only costs a nickel more to go First-Class............ but it DOES require spending those five pennies.
__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Willie T
Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 12:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 63
Default

How to Frame a sideways stud without having a lip


Oh I'm not worried about the time it'll take, I was meaning that I thought there would be a better way... IE For contractors.

I only have to frame around a small pole which is less than 3 feet of space I'll need to worry about. An extra ten minutes.

I was just thinking that if I had to do a long run like that, which I'm sure has to happen sometimes, that a contractor might have had a different way.

I'm going to use the 2x2 and pre drill everything. Thanks again for your help!

jdm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving a load bearing stud Tonglebeak Building & Construction 34 07-07-2010 12:32 PM
Moving a Stud HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 5 02-23-2010 01:11 AM
Is it safe to remove this stud? lofar Remodeling 4 06-16-2009 11:22 PM
Exterior wood door frame on concrete floor RosenKen Building & Construction 3 06-05-2009 02:23 PM
Please, help with sheathing and stud placement Mrmusic Building & Construction 2 09-10-2008 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.