Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2008, 10:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

How do you Set posts for a shed on a hill ?


I have a small 8x8 shed I want to build on the side of a hill and I am unsure if I should set the posts completely in concrete or just at the base and then fill in with back fill (dirt,shale). The incline for one side of the shed on the slope to become level is slight , maybe the post will come above the surface 1 foot. I was planning on placing 1 post on each corner. 4 in total. 2 at about 1 foot above the surface and the other 2 just above the surface. The ground freeze depth here is 18". So should I place gravel underneath the posts and pour concrete around the posts to the surface or other wise.Is it essential for the ground to be dry to pour concrete ? The ground being saturated is a concern. I realize this structure is small but should I place a central post to brace the weight distribution or will the corners be sufficent as I am spacing the floor joices every 12". I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks.

Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:29 PM   #2
hvac/refrigeration
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ga.
Posts: 13
Default

How do you Set posts for a shed on a hill ?


If it were me, I would go to local home store of your choice lowes or home depot and pick up some cylindrical tubes. Dig Down minimum 18'' until you hit solid ground. Set tubes in the ground and pour full to your joist level minus green plate or if using green wood set directly on top of concrete. I would at least get it up high enough so you have no water saturation directly on the joist.
Ground being wet doesn't really matter as long as you get down to solid ground and set the tubes.
As far as using post. You would have to set them on top of something solid, not just stuck in hole and concrete around them. If going this route dig the hole, pour concrete above ground level, set risers on top of pier and underneath the post.

metal-maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 10:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

How do you Set posts for a shed on a hill ?


Set the sonotubes to a depth of 24". You want to set them below the frost line, not at the frostline. Insert one of the Simpson connectors into or on top of the sonotube. Lay the framing lumber so it sits in the connectors off of the concrete.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 207
Default

How do you Set posts for a shed on a hill ?


How bad is the slope and the soil? What weight is going in the shed? Do you need to tie it into the hill with footings?

I would bell out the bottom of the sono tube formed holes.

Set the piers to hold the wood minimum of 16 inches off the soil and plan on a stair or ramp.
kgphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing covered porch support posts yousah Remodeling 4 09-30-2007 12:15 PM
Support posts for 12' high deck hotchkiss Remodeling 3 09-05-2007 06:32 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM
Installation of pergola posts HDelahay Landscaping & Lawn Care 13 10-11-2006 06:46 AM
building a shed on a sloped hill tom1st Building & Construction 5 08-03-2006 07:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.