Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
rsclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Here is the issue. Due to lack of knowledge, a hole 2 1/2" in diameter was drilled through what I now know to be load-bearing. It is in the doorway to the living room from the foyer and there are 3 studs together. Should I remove the drywall on either side of the doorway and attach a full lenght stud with glue and nails to each to reinforce? Any other options like steel plates etc.

This is on the main floor. There is a basement and an upstairs. Was originally drilling to run wires for to allow home theatre equipment to be placed in a closet.

Need some advice. Thanks in advance!

rsclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Why 2-1/2? Could have been done with a much smaller hole.
The sheetrock only needs to be removed on one side. Just set new studs next to the ones already and nail at the top and bottom. No need to nail them together in the middle.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 08:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
rsclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Good question. Just didn't know. Going to run several wires. (4 hdmi, 1 cat6...). I appreciate your help and quick response!
rsclement is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rsclement For This Useful Post:
jcrack_corn (07-30-2014)
Old 02-21-2012, 09:06 AM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,273
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Based on your description, it sounds like you may have drilled clear through three studs back to back. These may have been two trimmer studs and one king stud supporting a header. You need to check this possibility out, because if that is what you did, your header on one side has been severely compromised, and adding one stud is not likely to be adequate.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 10:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,309
Rewards Points: 622
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


look at this link it is more help full then here some times.

http://www.familyhandyman.com/DIY-Pr...-in-wood-studs

FYI 3 1/4 " hole max for a 2x6 stud. An 2 1/8th max. for a 2x4 stud

Last edited by Nailbags; 02-21-2012 at 10:26 AM.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
rsclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Thanks. Sounds like I have my work cut out for me.
rsclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 77
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Could a stud shoe provide adequate reinforcement?
JeepNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


May have to Remove drywall on one side, Temporary support header, remove drilled studs, install new studs, remove temp support, redrywall.
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,309
Rewards Points: 622
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


If the studs are 2x6 he can drill a 3&1/4 inch hole and be ok.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 12:08 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,967
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


2X4 wall?

Width of doorway?

Load above doorway?

Location?

R602.6 Drilling and notching-studs. Drilling and notching of studs shall be in accordance with the following:

1. Notching. Any stud in an exterior wall or bearing partition may be cut or notched to a depth not exceeding 25 percent of its width. Studs in nonbearing partitions may be notched to a depth not to exceed 40 percent of a single stud width. 2. Drilling. Any stud may be bored or drilled, provided that the diameter of the resulting hole is no more than 60 percent of the stud width, the edge of the hole is no more than 5/8 inch (16 mm) to the edge of the stud, and the hole is not located in the same section as a cut or notch. Studs located in exterior walls or bearing partitions drilled over 40 percent and up to 60 percent shall also be doubled with no more than two successive doubled studs bored. See Figures R602.6(1) and R602.6(2).

Exception:
Use of approved stud shoes is permitted when they are installed in accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations.





For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm.

NOTE:
Condition for exterior and bearing walls.

FIGURE R602.6(1) NOTCHING AND BORED HOLE LIMITATIONS FOR EXTERIOR WALLS AND BEARING WALLS
If under the IRC: http://publicecodes.citation.com/ico...002_par012.htm

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (02-23-2012)
Old 02-23-2012, 07:18 AM   #11
Newbie
 
rsclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Here are some photos. I will get measurements shortly. Big question is how to fix it. What to brace. What to cut. What to replace. There is another story /floor above. Thanks for help.
Attached Thumbnails
How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?-image-351556222.jpg   How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?-image-1387307337.jpg   How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?-image-4024416115.jpg   How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?-image-3208336608.jpg  
rsclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 01:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,309
Rewards Points: 622
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Well Did you do the notching? If not I would be going after the contractor.
a 3/4 hole would have been enough for cat 5 and coax. you need to replace all them studs they so take off the sheetrock brace up the top plate use a saws all with a thin blade to carefully cut out one stud then put the new one in. then repeat till done.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:40 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Yep as Nailbags said, or ou could sister new studs beside old ones. Where it goes behind the intersecting wall put one on both sides maybe. Typically the header above the door should be supported by studs in the wall it is on and it does not look like you touched them, or did you?
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:33 AM   #14
Newbie
 
rsclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


I believe I did. Looks like 3 studs together. Should I place a jack under doorway prior to working on it?
rsclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 11:18 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 150
Default

How do I reinforce compromised load-bearing studs?


Have you determined whether the wall with the opening is load bearing or not?

Regardless, those 3 studs are there for a reason. Possibly to take some roof loading. They should be replaced in full, but you will need a an excellent understand of the structure for any temporary support you will require.

psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
holes, load-bearing, reinforce, studs, wall


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think this wall is load bearing? rchickering Remodeling 17 11-21-2011 06:35 PM
Determining a Load Bearing Wall (Pic Included) Evil Scotsman General DIY Discussions 18 03-02-2011 03:46 PM
Load Bearing wall or not? Dennis6950 Remodeling 5 02-01-2011 09:34 PM
load bearing walls rvesci General DIY Discussions 4 12-28-2010 10:51 PM
Load bearing wall! Newtsjetson Building & Construction 2 12-19-2010 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.