Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-06-2009, 08:33 PM   #1

Share |

How do I level my concrete floor?

Before I install my ceramic tiles, I need to level an area of my basement floor.

The area has a drain trap in the middle and it slops down. I would have to raise it approx. 2 inches at the highest point, covering a radius of approx. 8 feet.

Of course I have never done this before. Do I use self levelling compound, or I have a product that I have used called self bonding concrete? Which is a powder that I mix with water.

What would be the easiest way for me to do this. Of course, I have to get rid of the paint that is on there right now.

Thanks.

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:37 PM   #2

what part of the floor are you trying to level, the drain area?

fixrite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:53 PM   #3

The area that I am trying to level just happens to have a drain right in the middle of it. I am refinishing the basement and eventually installing tiles.

Therefore, I would also have to raise the drain trap two inches as I cannot get rid of that drain, I have to keep it there.

So, I guess I am really asking two questions. How do I level the concrete and how do I raise the drain trap. Is that what its called a drain trap?
Old 03-06-2009, 11:46 PM   #4