Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Hello,
I originaly posted this question in the roof forum so i would like to give you the url to that thread. The thread started with me aking What is the best way to join to roofs togther. Now I am building the trusses and need a bit of help.
Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks
Whats the best way to attach these roofs together?


Last edited by missfixit; 03-11-2009 at 08:06 PM.
missfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 06:39 AM   #2
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,849
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Why not just order manufactured trusses? They are usually cheaper than trying to stick build them and will come with all the engineering documentation you need to satisfy the building inspector.

Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 09:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maintenance 6 View Post
Why not just order manufactured trusses? They are usually cheaper than trying to stick build them and will come with all the engineering documentation you need to satisfy the building inspector.
The closest place to me that sales manufactored trusses is 90 miles and they want $59 each plus $175 delivery, I don't have a long enough trailer for 24' trusses. Not to mention the satisfaction of saying I built this from the roof down.
missfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 09:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,943
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Nice idea, but without engineering data for the trusses you build, all may be for naught.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 09:58 AM   #5
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Rewards Points: 500
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


I would seriously consider buying the trusses pre-manufactured. You will spend nearly the same amount of money and considerably more time in building your own.

I do understand the satisfaction of DIY, but the trusses are one area I defer to the professionals. And at $59 a piece, that is cheap piece of mind.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 09:59 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Nice idea, but without engineering data for the trusses you build, all may be for naught.
I have trusses that were used in my garage that I can copy for engineer support so I am not worried that it won't pass inspection.
missfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 12:17 PM   #7
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,849
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Not sure how your area is, but around here you could copy whatever you want, you still need to have the engineering data sheets for the trusses, or no approval. Additionally, your garage trusses would have to be identical in size as what you need for this project and sort of doubt they are. At $59.00 each, I would jump on them in a heartbeat. I looked at the pictures in the other thread. The top plate on your addition appears to be at a different level than the original house, so it looks to me like you'll need to do some creative work on the trusses to make the roof lines match. Nobody here is trying to give you a hard time. Just trying to save you some heartache down the road.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 12:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maintenance 6 View Post
Not sure how your area is, but around here you could copy whatever you want, you still need to have the engineering data sheets for the trusses, or no approval. Additionally, your garage trusses would have to be identical in size as what you need for this project and sort of doubt they are. At $59.00 each, I would jump on them in a heartbeat. I looked at the pictures in the other thread. The top plate on your addition appears to be at a different level than the original house, so it looks to me like you'll need to do some creative work on the trusses to make the roof lines match. Nobody here is trying to give you a hard time. Just trying to save you some heartache down the road.
Well i called building permit place and there is no engineer data sheets needed for the trusses. I was getting confused when you guys were saying that. I have already been allowed to build my own trusses as this is not for a house but rather a workshop behind my garage.
I don't need the same measurements for the garage trusses. I was just using them as a reference showing how much support went in each truss. For around here more then enough support is in each truss then required.
I have since used my measurement of 13' 5 1/2" and made the first truss and my pitch and that measurement turned out to be correct. If anyone is interested where I got that measurement here is the calculator i used. YOU always leave the foot at 0 in the pitch slot and just put your pitch in the inches slot. MY pitch was 6/12 so i put 6 in the inches slot.
http://www.hgtvpro.com/hpro/online_t..._28129,00.html

I used the rafter length calculator.

Thanks
missfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 05:13 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

How do I find my Line length for building trusses?


Hi, are you building trusses or rafters with a ridge board tying them together at the top? I'm confused as you talk about building your own trusses, and then use a ridge board. (They don't mix.) Your 6/12 angle will be about 72"+4"=76" (includes 2x4 rafter) Your house looks to be a 3" or 4" rise per foot, at 1/2 your garage span, 12' ? x4=48"+4'=52" ? . New plates are about 8" ? lower than house top plate. New roof will be about 16", higher than garage roof. You will see an odd looking triangle of roofing sticking above the middle of the house.You need to reverse rake cut the end of your ridge board to match the plane of the front of house. Do you really need the 6/12 ???? GBAR

Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locate Return Recirculating Line Farmer Dean Plumbing 4 02-20-2009 06:47 AM
need to find Simpson connectors on line rtoni Building & Construction 11 01-14-2009 03:59 PM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 08:19 PM
How to line up trusses with studs aero_ub Carpentry 5 04-24-2006 03:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.