Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-24-2008, 10:45 AM   #1

Share |

How to avoid getting waves when mudding my joints...

How can I avoid getting the waves during mudding?
It doesn't happen all the time but sometimes I get these waves.

How do I get rid of them?

Thanks

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 11:27 AM   #2
Power Gen/RS Engineer

Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
How can I avoid getting the waves during mudding?
It doesn't happen all the time but sometimes I get these waves.

How do I get rid of them?
Move to the Midwest. No seriously, yummy, can you snap a picture of this? I've been doing my own mudding for several years and I'm not sure what you're talking about. Do you mean that, as you move say horizontally along a joint, that the mud looks like a boat was moving through it (i.e. the dried mud resembles the wake left by a moving boat)? If this was the case, I'd say that you're not applying enough pressure to the knife when you sweep it.

Obviously, sanding is the cure but you're probably wanting to know how to simply prevent it in the future.

Jimmy

Old 05-24-2008, 11:28 AM   #3
remodeling pro

IF it is a series of "ripples",they are the result of your knife being pulled over a rough surface, usually the ragged edge of a cut resulting from the rock being snapped off and the paper not cleanly backcut. You should eliminate this problem with a sanding before you pull another coat,or they will just keep transferring up each coat. If it is just an occassional wave in a long joint line, it is probably where you stop/start a new stroke. Touch up by sanding before next coat. This is one of those things a pro makes look easy (pulling a perfectly smooth long joint), but for the rest of us...thanks for sandpaper.

Last edited by troubleseeker; 05-24-2008 at 11:36 AM.