Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-28-2010, 08:00 PM   #1

Share |

housebroken..I mean literally...lol

Ok, here goes...I am in need of major advice and pointers as I am a beginner DIY'er. I have an old house on concrete. My back porch was extended on cement and inclosed using wood studs. 3 huge picture windows were installed incorrectly..ie no flashing, no sealing. The 2 windows take up the entire wall. I am no expert but the framing looks incorrect. A bathroom was installed, the vent pipe leaked, the roof leaked. No sheathing remains on the lower half, mainly because no mositure barrier was applied to the sheathing. The room was then bricked in. I have found no ties securing the brick. The sills are totally rotten-what is left of them, there are a lot of open spaces and eaten up wood with termite damage-no live ones the house was recently treated last summer. The upper portion of the room is intact and well. I removed the panneling and the entire bathroom fixtures to start the process. When I pulled what insulation out that was left all I see is a brick wall. I am going to take out the 3 picture windows in the room and replace with 2 smaller standard windows. How and where do I start to create a moisture free wall? Can I remove a section of the wall at a time, build a new frame with sheathing, and house wrap to make it moisture free? While applying a tar barrier against the second wall to seal the sheathing? Would that work? Again, I am a beginner and looking forward to the challenge. I have an idea of what I need to purchase for the most part. Any advice and pointers is welcomed, as I am working on a very tight budget and would cut down on errors or overlooked little things that leave me buried under a wall. Thank you for tips and hints. Diagrams are great too!! thanks again.

luvthechallenge is offline   Reply With Quote