Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2009, 01:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

House has 2 Slabs in It


I Just bought another House and I was ripping up the Carpet and Found that the Concrete Slab was Very rough and that the wall plates where in the concrete so Hammered out part of the slab and found that the slab was only 1.5 inch thick and then Polly and then I found another Slab - I hammered in that one and found it was 4" Thick - I assume That the owner before me was having moisture problems in the basment. Should I remove this slab. There is little Water droplets under the polly - what should I do? Looks Like this slab was poured all around the walls?

EV-Dutchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 02:06 AM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

House has 2 Slabs in It



Ev, Welcome to the Forum
Are you referring to a below grade concrete slab in the basement?
You may have a legal issue here.

What is your location?
.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default

House has 2 Slabs in It


Yes I referring to my 4ft below grade Basement -
I live in Canada in BC
EV-Dutchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
basement, concrete, moisture, slab


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 05:48 AM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 10:09 PM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.