Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 08:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Share |
Default

Hole in concrete block wall


I have a concrete block house in which the top row of block is not block but poured concrete. There is a name for that and I cannot remember it, lintel???

I want to put a 12X12 hole one row down from the top. That would be the poured concrete, one row of 8 inch block and directly under that the top of the 12 inch hole. Framing it in seems like a waste of time. But thought I better ask the experts.
JIm

jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 06:51 PM   #2
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,703
Default

Hole in concrete block wall


It sounds like the phrase you'r elooking for is "bond beam."

I'm not sure what the actual question is though?

jomama45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 08:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Hole in concrete block wall


I want to put a 12X12 inch hole for an AC vent through the 8 inch block wall. The top of the hole will be 1 row of block under the bond beam. So going down from top, bond beam, 8 inch block and then 12X12 hole. My question is should I make the hole larger and frame it in?? The block is also stuccoed on both sides.

Thanks for the response. JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 09:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 93
Default

Hole in concrete block wall


A 12" hole does not need any additional support. Anything bigger than 24" you would need a lintel. If this hole was directly under the bond beam you could span even farther.
NJ Brickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 01:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lee county FL
Posts: 390
Default

Hole in concrete block wall


Thanks Brickie, that's the answer I was hoping for. JIm
jjrbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Options for insulating a concrete block house Ptron Building & Construction 7 04-05-2010 03:55 PM
subpanel mounting on concrete basement foundation wall bulk88 Electrical 12 03-10-2009 01:38 PM
what should I be careful about when drilling a hole through in the wall. foxwood Remodeling 3 08-25-2008 04:17 PM
A Hole to Nowhere fw2007 Electrical 12 03-24-2008 10:28 AM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.