Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-29-2012, 07:41 AM   #1

Share |

HELP for simple patio and patio cover 1st time

Hi! Newbie here. Just finished reading the rules for posting so forgive me if I missed something.

OK...

So I'm trying to construct a patio and patio cover. Something simple. Main things I need are cement, wood, and tin roofing. I've searched the forums on where to start: from the bottom up or top to bottom?

Right now I have bare ground (dirt and all) as soon as I step out from my house. I'm thinking of cementing a 2 feet sidewalk, then a small 1ft x 6in deep gutter, then cementing the darn thing all the way (15ft x 20ft) to the limit (8ft from the street).

Next I plan to put the cover. Construct the roofing first, level with the roof on the house, then posting it up all using treated 2x4s/2x2s/ and 4x4s. Im thinking of making the patio cover 12ft x 20ft. Three feet from the start of the patio and 20ft to cover it across.

what do you guys think? any suggestions?

crzysprstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:22 AM   #2
DIY-er

The first thing would be to excavate. For the patio, you will likely need an 6" depth (2 inches of patio stone on top of 4" of aggregate) - check the building standard at your local building department. For the concrete walkway, you will likely need a 6" depth again, and more for the drainage swales you want to install.