Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-21-2010, 07:38 PM   #1

Share |

HELP - shed project instructions wrong?

Hi everyone. I am desperate for some help please. And I am a real newbie at this so please forgive what may seem obvious to most of you.

I am building the Sunlight Garden Shed from plans printed in this book. (it is the shed illustrated on this cover)

I got the foundation built and the rear wall done. When I started doing the cutting for the front wall per these instructions, I noticed what I believe is an error. In the "For the Front Wall" paragraph (Step 4) which I've circled here in this scan of the page from the book, it says to "Cut four 2 x 4 window sills (311 1/16")". Now.... that can't be right, can it? That's almost 26 feet!

Here is the layout for the front framing (page 105).

Can anyone help me understand this? Is it an error? If it is, how can I figure out what length they should really be cut to?

Thanks in advance for your insight and guidance!

Shawnna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 08:32 PM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

It's 31 inches and 1/16" of an inch..... 31-1/16".

Notice that your two center windows are marked 2' 10-1/16" overall to the centers of the studwork. (Panel "A")

That's 34-1/16".

The sills are shorter than that by a stud thickness on each side.

A stud is 1-1/2" thick....... there two of them (one on each side of the sills)

Two stud thicknesses = 3"

34-1/16" minus 3" = 31-1/16".

But according to your plans, you will be cutting 12 pieces to that length for that wall (Panel "A"), not 4. The lower portion of that drawing shows what appears to be a double sill and a header of the same length.

And then the upper part of the window wall gets 12 more at the same 31-1/16" length.