Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-21-2011, 11:24 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

HELP reinforce a cracked rafter

Help DIYers...!

I'm a first time home owner in Southern California, total newbie in home repairs but I'm very motivated to learn..

Pls help me figure out how to reinforce my sagging garage roof. I noticed a huge crack in one of the rafters, and another 1 is starting to appear on a second one. Im thinking of sistering the rafter... and I need suggestions how to properly do it. You may also have other additional tips or suggestions how to accomplish the task, other than sistering... I really would appreciate your help.

Pls see image below:
Attached Thumbnails
HELP reinforce a cracked rafter-garage-ceiling.jpg  

Wolfen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 12:39 AM   #2

cut some 3/4 plywood and glue screw it to the rafters

bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 12:44 AM   #3

Wolf: Wood cracks. A crack is different, in my mind, from a split. A split is where the board has been stressed beyond its strength limit and is failing. Are any of the boards you see severely bent? Ends broken, and splitting/tearing apart? If the ends of the boards are solid (not going anywhere), then you probably have nothing to worry about. However, keep an eye on them, and if you see signs of complete failure, like pulling apart or tearing, then get excited. I am not an engineer; just a DIY guy.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:35 AM   #4

Not sure what I am looking at in the pic. I see 6 boards coming together at one point and nothing supporting that point, or am I wrong?? Is the 2x6 a single board??? Is the roof sagging at this point??? I also agree with the above, a split is not necessarily a crack.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:34 AM   #5