Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-30-2005, 01:41 PM   #1

Share |

Help Needed: Hurricane-proofing a Shed (Mr. Teetorbilt?)

Teetorbilt-

I read in another thread you posted in at the pro contractor's site that you have built sheds which survived a couple of hurricanes, so I thought that you would be the ideal person to help me with this issue.

I am about to build a 16x16 shed on a pre-existing concrete slab, but I have to put it up on cinder block piers due to irrigation/flood plain issues. I am in New Orleans, so I have a degree of hurricane vulnerability, and I am trying to figure out the best way to give the shed maximum lateral and vertical stability.

For lateral stability, I've been told to drill into the slab beneath each pier/cinder block location, insert a bolt into the hole, and cement the bolt into the gap in the cinder block. However, noone gives a consistent answer to these questions:

1. how deep, and at what diameter, should I drill into the foundation?

2. what diameter, length, and type of bolt should I use?

3. how do I secure the bolt into the slab?

4. should the bolt go through the floor sill?

As for vertical stability, I've been told that the weight of the structure "should be" adequate.

Again, due to the hurricane vulnerability, I am wondering if some kind of anchor system would be a good idea?

Is there any other advice you could give me about how to "hurricane-proof" my shed?

Thanks in advance for your time and expertise!

Last edited by Badseed; 07-30-2005 at 03:26 PM.
Badseed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 09:40 PM   #2
Contractor