Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-09-2008, 07:07 PM   #1

Share |

Help fixing a concrete step

I am trying to fix a single concrete step to my front porch. Over the winter it basically disintegrated all around the edges & was unsafe, so I took a sledgehammer to it & broke away all the concrete I could. I don't want to use a jackhammer to break it all away because our asphalt driveway was poured around it & I'm afraid of doing more damage than I can repair myself & am on a limited budget.

I am a complete novice with anything like this so I am looking for some place that might give step by step instructions.

From surfing the internet I've learned that I can probably poor new concrete over the old stub, but have to use a bonding agent of some kind - is there a brand name I can look for that's best?

I can build a form from 2 x 4s, but are there any tricks to this, other than just getting them the right size and shape? Do you put anything between the form and the concrete before you pour it so that it will come off when dry?

Will the concrete in the bags at the home improvement store work for this? Is there anything specific to look for when buying?

How do you make it level and smooth on top?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Susan

smccull493 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 09:13 PM   #2

That's a big project to tackle if you haven't ever worked with concrete. I'll try to help...

You can pour concrete over the parts you removed, but consider it a band-aid fix that won't last for a number of years. The best course of action would be to totally remove the bad stairs and pour new ones in their place. You'd be doing some more demolition, but essentially new stairs would entail the same processes as capping the damaged stairs.

Ok, capping...