Help Finnishing Outdoor Room - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-23-2008, 09:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Help finnishing outdoor room

Hi guys, first i would like to introduce myself. My name is Drew, i have no fancy resume with woodwork, this is my first project. I am 19 years old, and money is very limiting. I currently built a small 8' x 8' room in my backyard to help turn my home more active.

The total cost of this investment was roughly 500 dollars, and surprisingly it survived a 5.4 earthquake already (nice shelter i suppose). The problem i am having is trying to finish it. I used OSB wood throughout the exterior, and now i am looking to dress her up nicely, but yet affordably (surprised that's not a word). There are cracks at which wood panels do not exactly match up, and corners that will need to be shaped. I was thinking stucco, but i do not think the walls will hold up. I need something light weight i guess.

Thanks for your help.
-Drew

Advertisement

rawimpact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 09:46 PM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

...ummm....Paint?....

Is this a serious post?

(electrical outlet = )

Advertisement

Old 08-23-2008, 10:12 PM   #3

It's a serious post... like i said, this is my first project. I have read that painted OSB doesn't finish well.

And yes, that is an electrical outlet. I put the weather bracket around it to make it waterproof.
Old 08-24-2008, 12:58 AM   #4
Custom Deck Builder

Rewards Points: 75

Sheets of exterior primed T1-11 - you can get them w/ grooves every 4", 8" or not at all.
Stagger your seams and make sure you properly waterproof the structure to prevent rot, mold and deterioration.

Mac
BuiltByMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 06:22 AM   #5