Header Size - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 08:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

header size


I have an old 2 story home. Studs are 24 OC. A single story bedroom was attached to it and has a shed roof. I want to make a 48 inch wide opening I the wall to get access from the second floor. What size header do I need

Advertisement

jmr5128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:53 AM   #2
Retired carpenter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 303
Rewards Points: 250
Default

header size


You want to cut an opening in a second-floor wall to access what? The bedroom's shed roof?

Advertisement

abracaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 3,032
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

header size


Pics would help.
Gymschu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:56 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

header size


Quote:
Originally Posted by abracaboom View Post
You want to cut an opening in a second-floor wall to access what? The bedroom's shed roof?
Yep.My furnace is in there.
jmr5128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:32 AM   #5
Retired carpenter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 303
Rewards Points: 250
Default

header size


If your house is old, studs are probably 2x4s. That wall is probably holding only the weight of the roof. Do you get much snow?
abracaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

header size


Quote:
Originally Posted by abracaboom View Post
If your house is old, studs are probably 2x4s. That wall is probably holding only the weight of the roof. Do you get much snow?
I live in southern michigan so some winters we do
jmr5128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:24 PM   #7
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,771
Rewards Points: 158
Default

header size


2 ply 2x10 54" long to allow for double jack studs on both sides of the opening.. if not that a 4x10 based on whats available from the lumberyards

Advertisement

woodworkbykirk is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to woodworkbykirk For This Useful Post:
jmr5128 (01-18-2012), mae-ling (01-18-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to determine proper Basement Window Header size- AdamH Building & Construction 1 11-23-2011 03:59 PM
Raising header to install standard size door (photos) JustADoc Building & Construction 8 08-10-2011 05:42 PM
Any ideas how to deal with hidden header? loftezy Building & Construction 2 05-04-2011 06:19 PM
what size header should i use? jakejr13 Remodeling 1 07-25-2010 06:46 PM
framing and header size for garden shed jcall100 Building & Construction 1 07-11-2010 08:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts