Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 09:27 PM   #1
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 95
Share |
Default

header bolted to block


Hi all. Building an additional on posts-piers. There are two rows of three 12" sonotubes 7 and 14 feet from the house. Against the house the plans call for a 2 x 12 to be bolted to the block foundation.

Question...how far apart do I place the lags? I'm using the kind with the ring at the end that's threaded.
Thanks.
gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,837
Default

header bolted to block


Depends on the load. Hard to say over the Net, w/out info. How much house above? How much snow? Flat roof w/ traffic from the second floor? Etc.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:02 PM   #3
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

header bolted to block


I don't think I'd have pairs any closer than 2'. No farther than 3'.
I know that's kind of a lame answer.
I wonder how many an inspector would want.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:03 PM   #4
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Default

header bolted to block


Technically: it's a ledger board.

2 every 16" on center - alternating top and bottom. . . like a zigzag. (aka: 1 every 8 inches - top/bottom/top/bottom)

Depending on where you live: there may or may not be any sort of code you have to follow - there's no code for me. . . but research that and go by what they say if it's different than what you find online.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:05 PM   #5
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

header bolted to block


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snav View Post
Technically: it's a ledger board.

2 every 16" on center - alternating top and bottom. . . like a zigzag. (aka: 1 every 8 inches - top/bottom/top/bottom)
Try not to hit the same block too many times as not to fracture it.
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to titanoman For This Useful Post:
Snav (12-17-2011), woodworkbykirk (12-18-2011)
Old 12-17-2011, 10:05 PM   #6
Member
 
gkaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 95
Default

header bolted to block


Let's say that I would like to make it as strong as possible.
The guy that put it up today placed only one in the centre about 3 feet apart. Is this wrong?
gkaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:07 PM   #7
Disabled wood vet
 
titanoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California
Posts: 1,646
Default

header bolted to block


They should be in pairs, top and bottom of the ledger.

Sent from a Samsung Galaxy S2
titanoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:08 PM   #8
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Default

header bolted to block


That seems too little - 3' apart.

The anchors transfer the deck load from your deck posts to the side of the house: too few and you have too much load localized in one area - which can put a lot of pressure and lead to weakening/fracture and damage of the brick and of the lags.

Too many and the same issues can result - as titanoman pointed out - if you sink them through teh same brick it'll cause problems. If you sink it through the same row of brick too close together it'll cause problems.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:06 AM   #9
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

header bolted to block


What I want to know is, why don't the plans call this out?

Andy.
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:13 AM   #10
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

header bolted to block


Exactly, Andy has a point, the plans should call out the spacing and size of fastener. Not on the plans? Call the designer and ask would be the safest way.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Header rwbil Building & Construction 11 09-16-2010 11:50 AM
header on block wall KarlJay Building & Construction 2 09-10-2010 07:55 AM
Raise header of house wall plus add more header capslock Building & Construction 22 02-01-2010 09:13 PM
Fire blocking a wood stud wall built against cinder block. BasementVirgin Building & Construction 1 10-05-2009 11:02 PM
Moving Header Supports Star Building & Construction 3 09-25-2005 12:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.