HardiePanel Over Concrete Block - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 08:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
workshopaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


I want to update the exterior of a 1950s concrete block home. I was thinking of using HardiPanel as a new exterior finish. It would also allow me to re-frame the window openings and install modern windows, currently it has a mixture of single-glazed jalousie and huge single-pane windows.

However, I can find absolutely no info on installing over concrete block, just wood and steel framing. If it's on the Hardie site, it's well-hidden.

It seems that you could simply attach the panels directly to the blocks, using powder-actuated fasteners.

Any ideas?

Advertisement

workshopaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 09:52 AM   #2
Newbie
 
workshopaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


Well, after some experimentation, the PA fasteners won't work. The plastic guide fins stay around the nail and you'd have to individually remove them. Back to square one.

Advertisement

workshopaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


look at hardies rain screen detail,your going to need to fur it
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


Why not add foam insulation, fur it out and use vinyl siding instead?
That would be killing two birds with one stone.
I'll try and remember to post a picture later today of one I'm working one.
Those Hardi Panels love to shatter when applying, should not be installed close to the ground, brittle on the edges. Just go through a pile of them at the lumber yard and see how many are broken even before there installed.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
workshopaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Struble View Post
look at hardies rain screen detail,your going to need to fur it
Yeah, that's pretty much the same conclusion I've come to. I'm concerned that the HardiPanel will have that airspace behind it, seems like it wouldn't be hard to crack/break it. I suppose I could put rigid insulation in there, but that's a lot of expense for very little gain (in Florida).
workshopaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
workshopaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Why not add foam insulation, fur it out and use vinyl siding instead?
I really dislike working with vinyl.
workshopaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to workshopaholic For This Useful Post:
Nailbags (02-14-2012)
Old 02-14-2012, 10:55 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


What is it about it you do not like?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 12:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HardiePanel over concrete block


Quote:
Originally Posted by workshopaholic View Post
Yeah, that's pretty much the same conclusion I've come to. I'm concerned that the HardiPanel will have that airspace behind it, seems like it wouldn't be hard to crack/break it. I suppose I could put rigid insulation in there, but that's a lot of expense for very little gain (in Florida).

it's best to have an airspace with fc,

hardie is actually pretty tuff impact wise

Advertisement

Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
concrete block house shower medalta Building & Construction 3 11-02-2011 06:16 AM
Cold air coming through joist holes in concrete block foundation. Ptron Building & Construction 2 01-30-2011 05:29 PM
Options for insulating a concrete block house Ptron Building & Construction 7 04-05-2010 04:55 PM
Basement Concrete Block Mortar Seepage Advice Nightcrawler Building & Construction 6 09-22-2009 09:57 PM
Can foam sealer be used to seal the spaces in concrete block? marksto Building & Construction 6 04-21-2008 08:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts