Hanging A Blind In Metal - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hanging a blind in metal


I' m trying to hang a blind on my porch.It is stucco covered metal.What should I use?Lowes and Ace both told me to use plastic anchors but I can't drill through the metal.What should I use?

Advertisement

pattilou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 02:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,847
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

hanging a blind in metal


How thick is the "metal", and what is behind it? A sharp, high speed steel drill bit, with proper pressure (and periodic, frequent oiling) will drill through any steel in a house. Put several nuts, or similar, over the drill bit as a "stop" so that the drill bit does not go in farther than you need it to. Start with a smaller sized bit, like 1/8" or 3/16", and don't push so hard you bend them. Wear eye protection, and plan on breaking a few.

Advertisement

jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jklingel For This Useful Post:
pattilou (04-05-2011)
Old 04-05-2011, 04:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hanging a blind in metal


Can I use plastic anchors? I don't know how thick the metal is. It is under stucco on the porch.
pattilou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:14 PM   #4
Member
 
SteelToes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 150
Default

hanging a blind in metal


pattilou,

Just use self taping screws, having metal posts there in my opinion makes a job even easier
Attached Images
 
SteelToes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SteelToes For This Useful Post:
pattilou (04-05-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 02:33 PM
Hanging Ballet Bars (commercial environment) in metal studs 504branchie Carpentry 12 03-29-2011 09:45 AM
Replacing Metal timer box with Plastic - Metal conduit question? TFastle Electrical 6 12-20-2010 06:54 AM
Problen with hanging heavy draperies in sheetrock metal studs wall. Fixitgeorge Remodeling 1 04-11-2009 02:03 PM
Wire size for 300watt trans, 3 way 100ft Al the Diy guy Electrical 16 03-22-2008 09:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts