Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Girder help

Hi everyone, I am a new user and first time poster. First i want to give a little background info. I am a journeyman carpenter out of boston ma. My wife and I recently bought a 1950's cape. We are trying to add a shed dormer to the existing 2nd floor and the building inspector is dragging me through the mud. There are already 2 bedrooms up there. All we are doing is creating more head room, reducing the pitch of the back of the roof, and adding a small bathroom in the middle. I need to prove that my existing girders and beams can support the load of the dormer. The new ridge is going to be an LVL and there will be no load bearing walls on the 2nd floor. The first floor was opened up by the previous owner with LVLs and have met the necessary spec's. So there is literally (1) 4' section of load bearing wall on the 1st floor, but there is no load above it. The girder in the basement supporting the 1st floor is the concern. It is a solid 6x8 and has 3.5" lally columns every 6'-5" O.C. The run of the perpendicular joists are 12'-6" and rest on top of this girder/beam. Can anyone tell/prove that this is sufficient for my loads. I know i should see an engineer, but my wife and i just don't have the $$ in the budget to hire one. Attached is a drawing i made to better explain our situation.
THanks,
Nick
Attached Files
File Type: pdf lloydplan.pdf (65.0 KB, 60 views)

Npcuzzupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:45 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,090

Girder help

The only thing the inspector is going to accept is drawing from an engineer. Internet help is not going to satisfy him.

Old 12-03-2011, 11:51 PM   #3

Girder help

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post