Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-27-2009, 11:26 PM   #1

Share |

getting rid of ceiling tile dust

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here. I hope somebody will be able to help me out. It's a long story so please bear with me.

I moved into the basement of a rental house just over two months ago and it's been pretty much a nightmare. I discovered mold on the ceiling tiles (as well as elsewhere), so the landlord had the old ceiling tiles removed and the above wood cleaned. They were about 1x1 tiles probably still here from the 60's or 70's that fit right up against each other and were glued right onto the joists, no metal frame or anything.

Well the landlord went to home depot and bought your standard 2x2 ceiling tiles that are supposed to be mounted on the metal frame like in office buildings and such. She had someone glue and staple them back onto the joists. It looks absolutely ridiculous and amateur. I would never have signed the lease to this place with a basement looking like that.

This happened just over a week ago. I came home after it was done and the entire basement smelled of chalk, from whatever is coating the ceiling tiles. The person who did it also left a gigantic mess for me to clean up. I had to clean off all my furniture (though they claim it was covered) and vacuum my couch, not to mention cleaning the entire floor and scrubbing down the walls and trim.

I thought after cleaning everything, and leaving some windows open for it to air (there is central air in the rest of the house, but not in the basement, which is also ridiculous because the ducts are just running right there) the smell would go away.