Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-14-2013, 04:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

General questions re: platform deck with slanted roof

Total beginner looking at building a platform deck with slanted roof to protect me while I am eating my hamburger while it rains. Plus a small room for guests during the summer only. Nothing fancy.

Some more info from a previous post post.

General info:
Experience: None but motivated; have helped with odd projects including building a small deck
Deck size: Approximately 10 feet by 33 feet
Room size: Approximately 10 feet by 25 feet (would split this to include a small closet and maybe a sauna one day...I am in the Baltics after all and they have saunas in the darndest places)
Roof size: 12 feet by 27 feet (estimate...large enough to properly hang slightly over deck with an uncovered area for BBQ)
Roof height: Thinking 8' and 7'
Roofing: Possibly metal roofing sheets...don't know if it is inexpensive here or the best material for the location but they are very, very common. Maybe it is overkill though. I will use whatever works and doesn't require replacement in 2 years. Haven't thought of pitch but read somewhere that 1" for every foot was a good rule.
Deck height: As low as possible; no stairs required. Read 6" should be minimum...works for me
Grade: Level on dirt that has been left unattended for years
Weather: Coastal with 2-3 feet of occasional snow; some winters with almost no snowfall
Frost line: Approximately 4 feet

Don't need a permit but want to do it safe and proper.

I have some thoughts and questions about the project that I am trying to get general answers to so that I can do a rough cost estimate. If it's too expensive for me I will just enjoy a summer on the grass but at least I'll learn something along the way. So, here it goes: