Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2006, 08:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Garge Floor....


i just had my garge floor poured its (4" thick give or take mostly take i belivie) 24'x32' no wire mesh or rebar in it. it does have res. fiber in the concreat though. this sound right? no wire mesh or rebar in it?

aokss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:16 PM   #2
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,695
Default

Garge Floor....


Have control joints sawed (1"+ deep) soon. Caulk later after cleaning out. Cut in half both ways so you have 12 x 16 panels or use the floor drain as a center point.

Your slab will crack and this will allow you to control the cracks and not have unsightly "spider webs" across the floor.

concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Garge Floor....


Quote:
Originally Posted by concretemasonry View Post
Have control joints sawed (1"+ deep) soon. Caulk later after cleaning out. Cut in half both ways so you have 12 x 16 panels or use the floor drain as a center point.

Your slab will crack and this will allow you to control the cracks and not have unsightly "spider webs" across the floor.

it has been cut the panels are 8'x12' (3 across one down the center). not for sure how deep they are though.... do they really need to be caulk?
what about it not having wire mesh or rebar that normal? or should they have used some?
aokss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:54 PM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,695
Default

Garge Floor....


Caulking the joints makes for a much cleaner look and prevents the accumulation of dirt. After you spend the money for a floor, you want it to look good and not accumulate dirt and salts, etc. You can make it look like a HD floor without the carts.

You have plenty of control joints. Concrete will ultimatelt crack and your joints will guide any cracks and make them less noticeable.

My personal preference is for wire mesh also, but it is not necessary unless you expect the possibility of heavy concentrated loads. I tend to error on the high side, so my last driveway was 6", 5000 psi with air entrained concrete (freeze/thaw resistance) and both fibers and wire mesh. Outside in a northern climate (Michigan then) you never know what could end up in a driveway (snow plow, moose, neighbor, etc.). In a garage most of the unexpected things are eliminated.
concretemasonry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 09:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Garge Floor....


what type/kind of caulking be best to use?
aokss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with stain on Laminate Floor Lilypebbles Flooring 4 11-04-2009 04:06 PM
Floor joists for 2nd Floor Addition poptop Building & Construction 4 01-11-2008 07:57 PM
old uneven bathroom floor toubob Flooring 4 02-15-2007 01:39 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 09:23 PM
Help wih floor extremer1519 Flooring 1 12-27-2005 06:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.