Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-26-2008, 11:34 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Garage Header Insight

Although I am a newbie to this sight, I spent most of yesterday reading here and found some great information on the construction and electrical forums. I have some questions concerning the enclosure of a double carport to a garage. I recently purchased a ranch style house built in 1968 with a truss style roof. It has a front loaded double carport on one end with the opening on the wall supporting the trusses.(not the gable end.) The opening is 19'2" wide. The other 3 walls are already enclosed. The header appears to be a doubled 2x10 supported on each end by bricked columns (don't know what's inside the brick) and a round metal pole in the center. I have considered framing the metal pole and installing 2 Nine Foot single doors but wife's Ford Freestyle is 9'2" wide at the mirrors and I see myself having to buy a heated power mirror because one of us forgot to fold it in before entering the garage. So my solution is to remove the pole, replace the header with a beam that will span the opening and put up a single 18 foot wide garage door. I have been a DIY person for many years but never had a need to make structural alterations so I am kind of in over my head here. No pun intended. Having recently relocated from the opposite end of TN (450 miles away) and no buddies to call on for the weekend, I am forced to hire a contractor to do at least the header part of this project. What I am asking for here is some information about sizing the header, calculating load weight of the roof trusses, metal beam verses LVL, etc. Also having moved from Memphis to Johnson City, I understand that snow load requirements and things of that nature are a factor? Who do you call about that? Building inspectors and permit office? I want to make sure that the beam wil