Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-28-2012, 09:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Front Door inswing will hit bottom step

Hey Guys, This is my first time posting, but I'm on here all the time reading and finding some great information. Usually I can find information using the search feature, but I had no luck with this question.

I'm in the process of purchasing a foreclosed home that needs a fair amount of work. My brother and I have bought a few foreclosures in the past and usually do the majority of the work ourselves. We're located in the Southern New Hampshire area.

The house we're considering was originally a one floor home, but had a second floor addition back in 2006. The steps that they added to the second floor were never finished...along with many other things, but the permits were approved, inspected and closed. (Not sure how)

Currently when you open the front door there is about 3/8" of clearance between the door and the riser on the bottom step. The problem is that when we put a tread on that step the door will most certainly hit it and not be able to open up all the way.

The options we've considered to fix this problem are:

1. Constructing a 36" landing off of the 4th or 5th step with a 90 degree turn to the left. This just seems like a lot of work because we're going to need to make a cut-out in the ceiling as well to increase the height above where the 3 or 4 new steps will be located. There is a closet in this space on the 2nd floor, so I would just put a 'bench' in this closet for shoe storage or something. This is also going to decrease the size of the living room by at least 10sq.ft.

2. Change the door so it opens out. There is a farmers porch on the front, so I'm not worried about water getting on the top of the door, but I'm not sure if it's possible to reverse the door. The door is really nice so I'd like to keep it.