Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2010, 04:14 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Freezing Cold Walls

Last year I bought a townhouse and this winter I am finding out how drafty and cold the house is. When I put my hand on inside walls that are exterior walls they are extremely cold to the touch. I am not sure what to do.

I also have drafts coming from underneath baseboard. I've tried everything to fix this. I sprayed "great stuff insulation" and I caulked the gapped between the floor and baseboard but its still freezing cold. I have my heater set at 69 degrees and it is running almost non-stop when it is 30 degrees outside. I put a thermometer down on the floor near the walls and it is reads 57 degrees, and thatís after my insulation jobs. Before it was reading 50 degrees. What else can I do because the walls themselves are ridiculously cold?

benchmarkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 04:35 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Freezing Cold Walls

Where are you located ?
Are the walls insulated ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 04:49 PM   #3

Freezing Cold Walls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Where are you located ?
Are the walls insulated ?
Northern VA

No Idea
Old 01-10-2010, 05:28 PM   #4

Freezing Cold Walls

Check for insulation in the wall by removing a receptacle cover plate and looking for it next to the box after turning off power to same.

Be safe, Gary
Old 01-10-2010, 05:58 PM   #5

Freezing Cold Walls

Quote:
Originally Posted by GBR in WA View Post
Check for insulation in the wall by removing a receptacle cover plate and looking for it next to the box after turning off power to same.

Be safe, Gary
At this point I haven't looked yet but I am going to assume there is none. What would you suggest to fix this?
Old 01-10-2010, 06:22 PM   #6

Freezing Cold Walls