Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 11:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,424
Share |
Default

framing window for a flue ?


i am planning to put a wood burning stove in my basement. the flue will run out an unused window opening. class a pipes and a thimble. stove pipe inside.

what i need to know, is how do i frame in this window for the thimble ?
i am thinking = just frame it as a wall and install the thimble

1000th post right here.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,424
Default

framing window for a flue ?


well, this subject = me installing a wood burning stove, is getting me very little help. guess i am on my own.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,591
Default

framing window for a flue ?


Very bad idea.
That pipe needs to be at least double lined and will need to be run abaove the roof line so it will have some draw so it will not fill the room with smoke.
A window frame would give you almost no support for that kind of pipe.
Also if the piping was that low to the ground what happens when it snows?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,424
Default

framing window for a flue ?


actually, in my case, it is a very good idea. i frame the opening where the window was taken out. all class a chimney pipe. supported on the outside. the window opening would be just for the pipe to pass to the outside.

my question is = after building a new buck frame. what would i use to fill the space between it and the thimble ? cement board ?
but really, thimbles are put in framed walls all the time.

sides, i may have changed my mind. and will put a hole in the block wall right by the window. class a pipe through the wall. mortar. done
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window framing JMLTS Building & Construction 4 09-11-2012 12:13 AM
Rough framing a window hwdruman Building & Construction 4 06-14-2010 09:03 AM
Framing and Trimming Basement Window mjkpainting Carpentry 2 06-28-2009 09:33 AM
Problem with window and everything around it malfunction Building & Construction 3 05-26-2009 05:11 PM
Re-sizing a window opening shtoink Carpentry 5 09-04-2008 10:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.