Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


I have 2 concrete posts in the middle of my basement that are approx. 15 inches X 15 inches.

How do I frame around them in order to later install drywall?
Do I treat it like a wall and do top plate, bottom plate, etc.?
Or is there another way to do it?

They are made of concrete blocks, and not really smooth and straight.

If I just attached wood strapping to them, will the wood crack when drilling into the concrete and using Tapcon?

Thanks for any help.

yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 03:31 PM   #2
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Tapcons will certainly work , but I find them to be lots of trouble in cinder block because the diameter of the hole is critical to their success and block does not drill nice clean holes in my expeiences. I would use #10/12 plastic or lead anchors and deck screws. Clamp the 1 x4 in place to form a plumb outside corner from left to right, and drill through it to mark the location of the hole on the post, remove the wood and drill and install the anchors. Drill a 3/16 clearance hole in the wood for the screw shank; this will allow you to slip wood shims between the wood and concrete block to plumb the wood from front to back. Use dry, straight wood, and bed them in construction adhesive. You can fill in between the corners at top and bottom with pieces just glued in place (shim out if needed to flush with corner boards), as they are just providing nailing for base and crown trim.

troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 03:41 PM   #3
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,756
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


When drilling into and attaching to concrete block or brick, try to drill into the mortar joint.

Brick properties vary wildly and it is easy to crack a very strong, hard red brick while a soft red brick may not have the holding power.

Concrete block usually is more consistant (unless someone wants to make 8,000 psi block), but the aggregate varies and coarse aggregate can be difficult to get a uniform diameter hole in.

The mortar is much more consistant and predictable.
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:27 PM   #4
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Thanks for the info.
Will try the suggestions.
Hopefully, will work.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 06:18 PM   #5
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


I would use a standard framing method. Use 2x2s and be done with it. Straight and easy 8 uprights and the top and bottoms are all it will take.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 08:43 PM   #6
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Do you mean, the usual method of top plate (2X2s) and bottom plate (2X2x) and then the studs in between using 2X2s?
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 09:22 PM   #7
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
Do you mean, the usual method of top plate (2X2s) and bottom plate (2X2x) and then the studs in between using 2X2s?
Yes that's what I mean. You won't be drilling and possibly harming the block with all the tapcons or other fasteners.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 09:32 PM   #8
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


You know what MinConst., I like your idea the best.
And since I already know all about top plate, bottom plate, toenailing, etc., I will know what to do and it seems to be the easiest way to go,
even though I am getting real good at installing bottom plates, (pressure treated of course) using tapcon.

I have a really nice hammer drill that goes into the concrete floor really nice, even though the concrete floor is approx. 70 years old.

Thanks for your help.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:05 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


seeing two stand alone post in the basement is kind of odd, if you, by any chance to arrange the post being embedded onto some dividing wall or half wall, it will be good... unless you want your basement so opened that there is no inside wall at all...
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:05 AM   #10
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


MinConst is right. That's the only right way to frame it.

-my 2 cents-
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:15 PM   #11
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Thanks Atlantic.
I was kind of missing your response.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:17 PM   #12
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


What you suggested is a good idea, but what I want to do is leave the room open.
I also plan on putting trim around the posts so they will look like I wanted them to be there.

I hope they will turn out nice.


Thanks Kui****g
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 07:31 PM   #13
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Hey Yummy Mummy, I am finishing my basement and have two posts as well. Mine are much smaller (4 inch round metal). I am just going to build a box out of poplar. No studs, no drywall. I will paint to match the trim. Will probably also have a baseboard on it to make it look more anchored. 15" sq is kind of big but you could still do in wood. Use a biscuit joiner and wood glue to join 2 8" boards together then miter the edges on a table saw, biscuits, glue and a few brads to hold it together while the glue dries.
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 09:13 PM   #14
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Hey, what a great idea.
Then I wouldn't even have to drywall it.

The only thing, how would I adhere it to the concrete.
I get how to build it, but how do I attach it?

Thanks for another suggestion.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 09:49 PM   #15
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Framing 2 concrete posts in middle of basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by yummy mummy View Post
Hey, what a great idea.
Then I wouldn't even have to drywall it.

The only thing, how would I adhere it to the concrete.
I get how to build it, but how do I attach it?

Thanks for another suggestion.
Attach a piece of PT to floor that measures the inside dimension of the post surround and use finish nails to attach to that. Same on top but pt not needed on top. Even easier would be to use some tapcon screws on an angle and screw right to the floor then cover with baseboard moulding. Or plastic anchors into the columns themselves at bottom and cover with trim. Same on top and cover with a crown moulding.

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pressure treated posts set in concrete? zubin6220 Building & Construction 19 08-13-2013 05:39 AM
Laminate or vinyl on a concrete basement floor? pjpjpjpj Flooring 36 09-03-2012 01:37 PM
Framing a basement ledge nlexi912 Building & Construction 8 11-14-2011 04:24 PM
Attaching 4x4 posts to a concrete porch. dweagle Building & Construction 6 04-01-2010 06:41 PM
Leaking Basement - Concrete jeepwillies Building & Construction 2 03-06-2007 07:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.