Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2009, 04:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Caroling
Posts: 59
Share |
Default

footing


what is the best way to figure the amount of yards for a footing?
Toolmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:22 PM   #2
Concrete & Masonry
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,556
Default

footing


Total length in feet X average width in feet X average thickness in feet (8" thick =.667 for example) divided by 27= total yardage.

Don't be hesitant to add 5-10% extra for waste, form spreading, thickness variation, etc....
Calling for a clean-up truck is far more expensive than throwing a little concrete away.
jomama45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 05:54 PM   #3
World's Tallest Midget
 
Mort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twisp, WA
Posts: 626
Default

footing


Also, if you're using a concrete pump, remember he has to prime up and he won't be able to get 100 percent of the concrete out. I can't tell you how many times I've had to argue with people that know they ordered a 1/2 yard more than they needed, all the while at least 3/4 of a yard was sitting in the pump, unable to be safely pumped out.
Mort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 06:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

footing


Mort, I just have to reply, maybe I took it wrong, but I think it would be easier to explain to the customer why they had to pay extra for the product left in the pump then to explain why they won't have enough to do their project.
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 09:51 PM   #5
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,640
Default

footing


If you choose to pump the concrete because of the site conditions there will obviously be more waste that just dumping it into a hole without pumping. - All goes back to the amount actually needed to get the job done for the site accessibility.

Ordering a little too much is much cheaper than ordering too little because the delivery and trip charge gets higher thaan the cost of the concrete.
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 07:40 AM   #6
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Default

footing


When a pump is involved, 1 yard over is standard, unless we are pumpong a long distance.

I always order at least 1/2 yard more then calculated on a 10 yard pour....1 on a 20 anyway....a call back for a yard is like paying for 3 or 4, plus the wait time.
__________________
Ladwig Construction
Hennessey, Oklahoma
405 853 1563



joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
footing drain question chrisk Building & Construction 2 09-02-2007 07:21 PM
How level does a footing need to be? tripower Building & Construction 1 05-03-2007 08:59 AM
Wrong Footing Dimensions HELP jhernan35 Building & Construction 2 04-15-2007 02:22 PM
New addition old footing problem meashmut Building & Construction 2 04-20-2006 06:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.