Floor Squeaks Under Interior Wall, 1/2 Inch Gap Under Wall - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-06-2013, 01:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Floor squeaks under interior wall, 1/2 inch gap under wall

Hi Community. I have an interior wall in my master bedroom that spans 7 feet between 2 doors (bedroom door and master bath door. master bath is on other side of wall). The house is 8 years old and the floor around this wall has creaked for 7 1/2 years. I had the builder come back to fix it, but they just shimmed the wall which lessened the creaking, but it did not completely go away.

Things I've already tried and their results:

- The Squeeeeeek No More system: Didn't work because it isn't the floor that is squeaking, it is the nails holding the sole plate of the wall to the floor.

- Shim it more: I put a TON of shims in there and actually raised up the wall about 1/8 inch (reduced the creaking some). I didn't like the results because the fiberglass shower on the other side of the wall raised a 1/8 inch as well, and my linoleum that is caulked to that shower now bends upward at the end. So I removed the shims I put in as well as the shims the builder put in. Now the creaking is much worse than when I started.

The only other approaches I can think of and their downfalls:

- Use expanding foam: Downfall is it is messy, and if it doesn't fix the problem it will be very difficult to remove.

- Open up the wall, cut the studs from the sole plate, screw the sole plate down, then find a way to reattach the studs to the sole plate: Downfall is it is expensive and time consuming, but probably the best long term fix. However, since I'm selling the house I'm not necessarily interested in the best long term fix.

Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Advertisement