Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-05-2011, 10:42 PM   #1

Share |

Flooding in Wood Foundation

We live in a house with a wood foundation, and it has an enclosed crawl space. There is no external entrance to it.. the entrance is in our master bedroom walk in closet. I'm no professional.. so those of you know know more about this, might know what I"m talking about.. but I believe there is no duct work, the heating system is just open into the crawl space.. and it sends it through there and up through the vents to heat the house...if that made any sense.

anyway.. here in Indiana where I live we've had some bad flooding the past week. Last Monday when we woke up we were completely flooded in. Later in the day we noticed the heat wasn't hot.. we checked the furnace and it was fine.. so we looked in the crawlspace and found that it was completely flooded.. luckily it didn't touch the floors.. it was about 3 inches from hitting the floors. We rented a pump and got most all of the water out.. the rest of it dried up by the next day. After it dried up, we noticed some of the plastic that is down, has some holes in it... so first I wasn't sure how we should fix this? or will it be a problem?

Last night we had a ton more rain, it didn't flood as bad.. and we watched it all night... and it stayed dry until this morning when it flooded the most. There isn't much water down there.. just a few little puddles. It rained all day. I don't think it's a constant problem.. only with this really heavy bad rain.. and it's flooding everywhere.... cause we've never noticed this before. I figure it'll be dried up by tomorrow again..it's not enough to need pumped out or anything.