Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2008, 07:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Floating basement question


Hi, I have a floating basement. I am creating arches around the columns so they look good. Can I assume that if the bottom part of the arch is attached only to the foundation square concrete and post and not the floating slab that I do not need to float this column? Photo attached of the concrete square and metal post I am talking about.

Thank you
Attached Images
 

cobase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 08:25 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Floating basement question


The expansion joints cut around the base of the post in the picture probably aren't representative of the size of the pad footing underneath. More often than not, they're at least 24x24"...or more like 36x36".

But, it is also safe to say that the concrete inside that expansion joint probably won't ever go anywhere at all, even if the rest of the slab heaves up or down. I think you'd be ok building your column tight to the floor if you need/want to.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2008, 09:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Floating basement question


Thanks for the info. I kind of thought it would be ok but thought I would check first.


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
The expansion joints cut around the base of the post in the picture probably aren't representative of the size of the pad footing underneath. More often than not, they're at least 24x24"...or more like 36x36".

But, it is also safe to say that the concrete inside that expansion joint probably won't ever go anywhere at all, even if the rest of the slab heaves up or down. I think you'd be ok building your column tight to the floor if you need/want to.
cobase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
Basement Framing - Floating Slab JackOfAllTrades Building & Construction 8 02-05-2008 03:20 PM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.