Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-25-2008, 12:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Fixing 11" Hole in Concrete Foundation

Hi,

I have a small radon problem and before looking into mitigation systems I want to try sealing the cracks and the 11" sump pump hole in the basement foundation.

The cracks are no problem but obviously I can't just fill the sump pump hole. I'm thinking of covering it with a high gauge steel plate with puched openings for the pipe and wiring, using the concrete sealer to seal the plate to the floor and then covering the hole thing with a thin layer of grout.

This is my first house and I have never done any home repair before so I'm guessing at all of this. I haven't found a similar situation (found info on filling a hole but not on covering a below slab sump hole) so I figured I would ask if there is a better way to do this?

Thanks,

Robert

robertr4836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 01:26 PM   #2
Woodworker and Contractor

that should work but you may add a vent pipe from the sump to the outside, one to vent any radon and second to provide air when the pump runs so it is not creating a vacuum

Kingfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 09:17 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingfisher View Post
that should work but you may add a vent pipe from the sump to the outside, one to vent any radon and second to provide air when the pump runs so it is not creating a vacuum

Thanks! The hole is right near a wall so adding a vent shouldn't be a problem.
Old 02-03-2008, 11:31 PM   #4