Firewall In An Existing House - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2008, 09:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Firewall in an existing house


I was all set to close on a "row" house, but the loan fell through at the last minute. The bank denied it becasue there is no firewall between houses (on either side). Apparently this is a problem in a lot of areas, but the bank waited to say no.

Is this something that is easily fixable by a contractor? Any idea of cost? I would like to go back to the seller to negotiate but do not know a lot about this.

(too many computer sites with firewall, house, etc. clogging up search engines)

thanks

Advertisement

mjguff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
ICF Construction
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Firewall in an existing house


A fire wall is usually one of two things

one is a CMU/concrete wall that starts at the foundation and goes right to the peak of the roof

or

you have two individual walls from foundation to roof peak independant of each other, full walls with insulation in each for sound proofing and two layers of firerated board such as densglass, etc. on each wall and a small airspace seperating the two units. Essentially you could cut the units away from each other and they could still be free standing with full walls on all four sides, including the common wall.

Sounds like the unit you were buying is either and older unit before the new standards went into place or it is an apartment conversion as neither needed the strict fire codes in place today.

Save your money and find a new home, conversion is not cheap....10's of thousands of dollars

Advertisement

__________________
Chris
Chris Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 10:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Firewall in an existing house


thanks. Yes, it is an older home before the codes. It was gutted and completely remodeled. electric, plumbing, roof, floors, windows, kitchen etc.

Everything checked out with the house with the exception of the firewalls. If we are talking 10's of thousands, I can back out....no problem. I think that will put the seller over the price they can get for it so renegotiating is most likely not an option.

thanks for the advice.
mjguff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 10:04 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Radiant barier DIY in existing house? JDuc Roofing/Siding 6 01-11-2008 11:11 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts