DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Finding Load Bearing Walls

10K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  Dane Hitchins 
#1 · (Edited)
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/PoorScum/HousePlans-1.png

Hi,

I'm hoping someone here can help me locate the load bearing walls in my house. I know usually how to find load bearing walls, I'm familiar with the typical methods, and I have a lot of experience in construction, I'm just having a lot of trouble with this.

In the basement plan, the crawl space (to the right) was the original house, which was one storey and just the two rooms and the bathroom. That house was torn down except for the front (right) wall and the rest of the house built onto it and that is when the full basement was added.

The joists span from right to left (front to back) on all floors.

The only sistered joists are two that span across the middle of the house starting at the jog in the living room and spanning across the center foundation wall all the way to the back of the house.

I have been told by the previous owner that they believed the wall between the kitchen and the guest room on the first floor is load bearing. This makes sense because of the direction of the joists, but it just seems like so far a span across the kitchen, 16 feet without any support from the front wall to that wall...I'm not sure if this is possible?

I know for certain that there is a beam running along the ceiling over the front stairwell wall, this is where all the joists run to in the living room and the load comes down on the exterior top wall and the corner of that wall in the center of the house. This means the other stairwell wall to the TV room is also probably load bearing for the back side of the house.