Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-21-2006, 07:10 AM   #1
General Contractor

Rewards Points: 500

Fiberglass pools:

I am curious if any of you DIY'ers have a fiberglass pool (swimming pool) and how do you like it...pros and cons, would you do it again? As you guys can see, I am a general contractor, and I usually post replys here, but this is something I want to know since I am in the planning stages for my hew home and an indoor pool is in the works...and I am the unltimate DIY person, I will buy the shell, if I go fiberglass, and install myself...so now I want opinions on the shells. My buddies on CT say they do not like them.

joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 07:45 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 10

Fiberglass pools:

i dont know where you are located but im in key west fl and down here we have ground water about three to four feet down no matter where you dig so the problem there is once you fill the fiberglass shell you can never drain it because it will pop out of the ground. They do not wiegh enough to stay, also they take a lot more maintanece then a regular concrete pool as far as chemicals go, and they are more prone to stains then concrete. Some thing to think about is to find out how much value it will accually add to your house because as you know they are not cheap. Most of the people i do service for only use there pools for the first year or so and then when they have parties. So what i think is maybe you should try a aboveground first and then see how much work and cost it is before you do something permanent. Remember up north you have pool seasons of opening and closing. I hope this helps you. Reply if you want to know anything else.

simplybluepools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 09:21 AM   #3
Eibwen

Fiberglass pools: