DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Building & Construction (http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/)
-   -   Fastest and cheapest front porch and handrail to pass inspection? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/fastest-cheapest-front-porch-handrail-pass-inspection-100492/)

DangerMouse 04-04-2011 10:28 AM

Fastest and cheapest front porch and handrail to pass inspection?
 
I need to get these last couple things done this spring and get the inspector out of my life. The front porch/deck/landing/whatever is the last thing I have to do. Any suggestions? Any pre-made kits out there? There's a concrete pad there now, so I want to avoid having to set posts. Suggestions?

Thanks guys!

DM

hyunelan2 04-04-2011 10:35 AM

I do not know the price, but for fast and easy you can look into a precast unit-step type of solution. They can cast and form any size you need, then pick it up and install it.

http://www.unitstepjoliet.com/railings/rail5.jpg

DangerMouse 04-04-2011 10:54 AM

That was one of my thoughts. But I'm thinking the $$$ is going to be beyond my budget. Po(
Any guesstimate how much something like that would be? I'd call a couple places in the yellows but I'm uploading a large file on dialup and it'll be an hour or more still.... dialup stinks.

DM

tcleve4911 04-04-2011 11:01 AM

Try a modular home company.
They have temp stairs all the time.

kwikfishron 04-04-2011 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DangerMouse (Post 622990)
I need to get these last couple things done this spring and get the inspector out of my life. The front porch/deck/landing/whatever is the last thing I have to do. Any suggestions? Any pre-made kits out there? There's a concrete pad there now, so I want to avoid having to set posts. Suggestions?

Thanks guys!

DM

Iím shocked, with all the stuff make and show here, trees to trim even and youíre looking for a pre-made porch kit?:eek:

DangerMouse 04-04-2011 11:16 AM

I know, I know.... I designed and built the BACK porch: http://www.diychatroom.com/f19/outsi...spacing-24531/
BUT.... I just want something fast and cheap to get the inspector out of my life.

DM

kwikfishron 04-04-2011 11:22 AM

Well the second one should go twice as fast.:thumbsup:

You can get wood at a lumber yard, you donít have to start with a tree.:laughing:

DangerMouse 04-04-2011 11:36 AM

but.... but.... my lumber yard IS my yard! :laughing:

But I need fast and cheap...

DM

tpolk 04-04-2011 11:40 AM

make your house a lock box that he needs to figure to enter, maybe he'll just go away

tcleve4911 04-04-2011 11:42 AM

Move the back stairs to the front of the house.
Get a Beware of the Dog sign and don't let the inspector in the back yard.

Just trying to help.......:jester:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.