External Wall Vents Closed Off??? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-08-2007, 11:03 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

External wall vents closed off???

Buying 3bed semi and noticed the cavity wall air vents are closed off (cemented) - anybody got any idea why this could be done?

Is it something to do with cavity wall insulation? (as there is insulation installed - wool)

Thanks, Ash

Advertisement

Last edited by mchu6am4; 04-08-2007 at 12:06 PM.
mchu6am4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:34 PM   #2
Eibwen

Rewards Points: 500

Are these the vents for the crawlspace under the house?

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:47 PM   #3

Sorry, I don't really understand your question (i'm a layman)- but these vents were about 1 or 2 bricks high off ground level.
Old 04-08-2007, 01:32 PM   #4
Eibwen

If the house is built on a crawlspace where you have access to underneath the house versus being built on a concrete slab, then you would have crawlspace vents to allow air to circulate under the house to help remove moisture.

A vent maybe eight inches high by twelve inches long spaced every eight to ten feet along the perimeter walls of the house. Normally a few bricks up off the ground as you described.

These are set into the brick facade and may have a mortar ramp around the edges to hold them in place and seal the edges but should not be complelety covered in concrete/mortar.

Manual vents would have a button of some type in the middle to slide open/close the vents for winter/summer. Some have a manual thermostat to auto control the open/close.
Old 04-08-2007, 01:38 PM   #5

Understood, thanks. There is no room(s)/cellar under the house and the ground floor is solid concrete.