Excessive Moisture In Attic Crawl Space - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-29-2012, 12:22 PM   #1
liscenced electrician

Rewards Points: 514

excessive moisture in attic crawl space

Yesterday I went and helped my buddy put a ceiling fan in. While crawling through his attic crawl space. I noticed excessive moisture. Everything seemed to be wet. The plywood on the roof and the insulation. Not wet that it stained the sheetrock below. Just "moisture". We went up on the roof and I couldn't find any issues. While it did look like he'd need new shingles in a few years, they weren't totally shot. I'd estimate he needs new shingles 5 years down the road, but I'm no expert. When on the roof we saw dark areas that seemed to coincide with the wet areas I saw below. But the dark areas were only on one side of the roof. I checked his attic ventilation and while it seemed to be low it wasn't ridiculous. I think it was 3 vents by the peak, continuous soffit vents and one gable vent. I left his house confused with no good explaination for him. With time to think about it, I thought it might be his exhaust vents for the dryer and bath fans. He ruled out the dryer exhaust. He's supposed to check the bath fans exhausts. Are there any other good explanations for a lot of moisture that I could have him check?

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 01:14 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 686

Is this a finshed attic?
Was there insulation laying out over the soffit vents?
Was there room for air flow over the top of the kneewalls.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:02 AM   #3
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,292

+1 to Joe's questions.

Questions
  1. Ventilation
  2. Bathroom fans and moisture control