Emp - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 07:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

emp


hi all !

here is a tech question would 6 inch of reenforced concret stop most emp from frying my radios and cbs sets ?

emp = electromagnetic pulse aka sun flare or nuke bomb

Can any 1 here tell me for sure ? or do i need a metal bax to ?

Advertisement


Last edited by trooperfrank; 06-12-2012 at 08:28 PM.
trooperfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 08:24 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

emp


emp = electromagnetic pulse.
and no, I do not believe concrete will help.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Post

emp


Quote:
Originally Posted by trooperfrank View Post
hi all !

here is a tech question would 6 inch of reenforced concret stop most emp from frying my radios and cbs sets ?

emp = electromagnetic pulse aka sun flare or nuke bomb

Can any 1 here tell me for sure ? or do i need a metal bax to ?
No. 6" of concrete will not suffice. I actually design EMP shielding so I understand it inside and out. The best thing to do is to build a Faraday Cage based upon TEMPEST or EMSEC standards. People often say that a metal box will work and that is true. But that metal box was not designed for protecting your electronics from an EMP and it may not cover the full EMP frequency spectrum. One little opening can cause the box to not be effective.

If you decide to build a box please make sure that you nest the equipment for added protection. Do not use a ground wire as most people suggest because it is not necessary and could work against you. Not grounding the box will cause the energy to be diverted around your box into the air instead of into the ground which during an EMP event will be electrically charged.

If you need help let me know
miket2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

emp


Use vacuum tubes instead.

And IIRC 10 megatons will cause brush fires within a 35 mile radius.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:26 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,667
Rewards Points: 2,642
Default

emp


Put enough rebar in it and ground the hell out of it....and it might reduce the induced current.....

The amount of current in an EM pulse is a function of the source, the distance from it, the length of the wire and the orientation of the target.

A wire perpendicular to the pulse will have little current induced.....whereas, a wire parallel to the pulse will get the maximum current induced....typically the current is expressed as amps/meter.

You will know if WWIII is starting if a 40 megaton blast happens in low earth orbit above the central US.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts