Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2005, 06:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Electric in garage


I am in the process of having a unattached garage built , the footing should go in next week. My question is what is the best way to put a conduit of some sort in the footing of floor so I can bring my electric and water in from underground . I prefer to have the power come up in the wall.
THANKS

kelr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 10:08 AM   #2
aka:awesomedell
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Central Missouri
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to housedocs
Default

Electric in garage


This is done all the time both in slabs and footers, your concrete man can handle to pour and make sure the conduit remains clear they typically cover the ends with a plastic cap or duct tape. You need to have the conduit in place when they come in to set the forms, this is done by your electrician usualy as part of his rough-in. PVC is the material of choice to use, no chance of corrosion down the road. Hope that helps a bit.

__________________
All you need is ignorance and confidence and success is assured. - Mark Twain
housedocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 11:02 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Electric in garage


If you are doing this yourself, without an electrician, make sure you use electrical pvc conduit. Use a size larger then you think you will need.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 07:50 PM   #4
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Default

Electric in garage


I am currently doing a similar project only with an existing slab. The entry will be through the wall. The service will be 220/60A to run a sprinkler pump and a pool pump. Water will be run there as well.
My electrician has recommended 1-1/4" conduit, I'm running 2". PVC is cheap, digging the ditch is expensive. I'm also running 3/4" water PVC, the demand is not there but it allows for system expansion.
Paint the top of the conduit orange just in case anyone hits it in the future. I also have a master survey that I have had blown up as big as Kinko's could make it. It shows all underground services as found by the location company plus what I am adding. I also show any cross piping discovered (sprinklers, low volt lighting). I do this for all customers and my personal properties. Makes for a nice future reference.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric radiant heat in the garage art2670 Flooring 4 01-26-2008 08:58 AM
Converting Carport to Garage viking1974 Building & Construction 2 08-12-2007 10:38 PM
Garage Door Opener - Noisy on Closing ? quantass Electrical 2 02-13-2006 02:09 PM
electric service in garage kelr Electrical 2 03-26-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.