Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-31-2012, 03:17 AM   #1

Share |

Dying to build a deck

Hi all, been thinking of building a deck but I'm no pro and I'm thinking through the logistics of the build.

To start, I'm in Surrey (just south of Vancouver) BC. So wet climate, mostly mild winters.

I've attached two images - one of which is an existing 9'x10' concrete slab and the other is a future 12'x18' deck I'd like.

I have a few problems:
1) The clearance over the concrete is about 6" to the sliding doors.
2) The slab is horribly slanted away from the house. I'd suggest that the corner farthest from the house is about 8"-10" lower than the corner closest to the house. I know the slab is supposed to slant for drainage but there is an existing rail that used to be attached to the house and slab that has pulled away from the house by about 4 inches
3) The slab is about 4" thick. It sits off the ground by a good 6" where it's attached? to the house. It's resting on the ground farthest from the house.
4) To the right of the sliding door on the far wall, below grade is an egress window to the basement. In the future deck plan, I've railed that off to prevent my two kids from spelunking but leaving the egress off to the right (I hope that's ok).
5) The ground is very uneven all around the backyard.

I probably have many more problems but I've only just started.

My original plan was to build right on top of the slab but the more I read, the more I think this is a bad idea. Simply because I don't have the clearance for it (6") and I don't think it's up to code to do that on a 4" slab. If that is possible, I'll explore that further.

I'm now thinking I should break up and remove the slab (which is reinforced no?) and start a new with sonotubes. But how do I break up the slab that is against the house without damaging the home?