Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 03:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


As part of finishing my basement I want to improve the head room. Is it safe to try and pass the HVAC ductwork through the bssement ceiling/ first level floor joists? If yes, what is the proper way?

elpapi72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 03:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


By not cutting into the floor joists.

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 04:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: hilton head & atlanta
Posts: 3,039
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


would like to do the same in our exercise room however i do NOT want my kitchen to fall down no, it ain't safe NOR is it allowed by code
__________________

if you hear it from a guy in the apron store, be VERY suspicious the mtl/method will work,,, when it time to build something together, they won't answer phones NOR help
itsreallyconc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:12 PM   #4
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


Quote:
Originally Posted by elpapi72 View Post
As part of finishing my basement I want to improve the head room. Is it safe to try and pass the HVAC ductwork through the bssement ceiling/ first level floor joists? If yes, what is the proper way?
If they are 2x material...you can't do that, Period!!! If they are I-joists you can.
__________________
Joe Carola
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 06:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


Thanks all for the responses. I have two "dumb" beginner questions.
1) how can you tell a floor joist from a floor truss and what is the difference?
2) what is an I-joist and what does it look like.

Details are good :-)

Thanks!
elpapi72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 06:50 AM   #6
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,179
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


Quote:
Originally Posted by elpapi72 View Post
Thanks all for the responses. I have two "dumb" beginner questions.
1) how can you tell a floor joist from a floor truss and what is the difference?
2) what is an I-joist and what does it look like.

Details are good :-)

Thanks!
Pic 1 are standard floor joist. Pic 2 are the I joist.
Attached Thumbnails
ductwork through floor joists.-joist.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 08:16 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


If there is enough room up in the joist bays, yes you could run the duct work up there. the problem lies, when you come across where electrical and water piping is, then you may not have enough room.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 04:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


So, from the photos (thanks) it would seem I have I-joists. My next question would then be..per Joe C. Reply what is N "safe or best practices" when running HVAC ductwork thru I-joists? Is there a metal/alloy frame I should place into the cut hole to support it with, etc.)

Thank you gents.
elpapi72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 04:13 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


Depends on where the vents are located on the floor above. You would normally run the parallel between the beams or joists, and the trunk would stay as close to the middle of the house. Keep in mind, due to you are wanting to relocate the duct work, you have to take into account, that you could end up changing the design of the system overall, and may or may not cause problems with air flow.

How are the ducts running now? Post a picture showing. When you do take the picture, stand back and take an overall shot of the area, not a close up.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 07:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


Here are dome photos of the situation. As you can see the duct runs perpendicular and below the joist (with one or two trusses thrown in) . I would like to continue them in the same direction ( because those areas they go to will still need HVAC) but raise them and go through the joists( in a narrower duct if need be). Is this advisable? What is the proper safe way to accomplish this?

Actually app keeps crashing when i attach photos. I will log in via my laptop soon and upload that way.
Attached Thumbnails
ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_191901.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_192934.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_194307.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_203027.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_203113.jpg  

ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_203153.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_203249.jpg   ductwork through floor joists.-forumrunner_20110902_203500.jpg  
elpapi72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 09:52 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

ductwork through floor joists.


You are fine to leave it as is. You will just have to box in the trunk area. Where the clean out plug is, you should put in an access panel, so it is easy to get to, without having to cut into the gypsum later on. As for that huge bundle of Romex, that does need to be cleaned up, so it is not just hanging there. The one thing that I would do, if you are planing to put in the basement a movie or rumpus room, is maybe use Roxwool between the bays, to help deaden the noise, along with using 2" Blue poly caulked in place around perimeter of the foundation, at the joists, or use Tiger Foam to help seal, if you are planning to completely finish the space.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C and Ductwork Efficiency Jessidog HVAC 1 07-29-2011 07:48 PM
Ductwork Insulation tk3000 HVAC 3 11-19-2010 04:08 PM
plastic ductwork vs. metal: acoustic duct liners jjpclev HVAC 5 02-26-2010 07:29 PM
Moving ductwork to accomodate finished basement Badfish740 HVAC 1 01-13-2010 03:11 PM
Tapping into basement ductwork BasementVirgin HVAC 7 09-10-2009 09:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.