Drywall Needs To Be Put Up Around Stairway - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-26-2009, 04:40 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

drywall needs to be put up around stairway

in the house my son bought. Right now the entryway has the wall studs exposed. I am going to help him put up the drywall but I am new to this too. I checked a few pages of postings and might as well start a new thread on this one. First, how do I know if the studs are ok as is or should we add new 2x4's. The studs actually look like beams. I don't have the measurements right now but they are kind of wide. Next, do all the edges of the drywall need to be butted together on the stud/beam or can they meet "whereever"? In reading, says I need a drywall screwdriver. Can I just use my cordless screwdriver/drill? How do I know what size drywall screws to buy? Is there standard spacing of the screws too? And I use a razor to cut the drywall, correct? That should get me started... thanks all

Advertisement

brenda o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:19 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Cut the drywall with a utility knife, T-Square and a chalk line.

Hold the T-square in place while you cut.
Make the cut in the panelís good side. For safety, keep your top hand well off to the side and out of the path of the cutting blade. I use my foot to keep the bottom of the T-square in place. I start at the bottom and make the score in one motion.

Finish the cut. I snap the board by lifting the center and pulling the board toward me. Then I insert my utility knife in the break and cut the paper on the back.

Quote:
In reading, says I need a drywall screwdriver. Can I just use my cordless screwdriver/drill?