Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 09:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


Need some input...I just installed my new Andersen 400 windows (which I love by the way). Followed their installation instructions to a T. I however found it odd they said to install the drip cap between the window frame and header trim. I still proceeded to follow what they said, and am not happy with the result. See attached images.

I do not like how this looks, and how the trim board is tilted at an angle due to the drip cap underneath it.

Now, do I even need this drip cap at all, if a) this window goes right up to the soffit, almost. b) there is no siding above this window c) there was not even a drip cap on the original window which never had water issues at all?

I have held off installing the casings on either side until i get some feedback if I need this drip cap at all. If I forego this drip cap here, I will still caulk every seam everywhere.

Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails
Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?-img00151.jpg   Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?-img00152.jpg  

toolingaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 09:54 AM   #2
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


that trim is too tight to the window,you need about a 1/4'' between the window and any trim,the drip cap should be sloped outwards and have have a 1/2'' bend down the face
if Andersen says install a drip then install it,whether you need it or not is debatable,but it can protect the unit from an ice dam or gutter backup or ordinary power washing


Last edited by Tom Struble; 10-24-2010 at 09:57 AM.
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 01:41 PM   #3
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,580
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


Tooling,
you could also take that top trim piece and run it across a table saw taking about a heavy 1/8" off about 1 1/2" tall to provide clearance for the drip cap and also the nailer flange. That should help your trim piece sit flat like it should. A drip cap helps to keep water from running down the trim piece and into the joint between the window and the trim. Once everything is in, painted and caulked, you probably won't notice it so much.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


you can get Andersen flashing from your dealer or possibly your lumber yard and caulk between the window and the drip cap,but not the bottom of the trim on top of the drip cap
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:15 PM   #5
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


to me... it looks like the window is so tight to the soffit, and the overhang is so wide, that whether you add that drip cap or not... it will not be an issue.

Unless the wind blows your rain straight up...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bud Cline View Post
Go ahead and apply for a variance, those guys at City Hall can use a good laugh.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 2,785
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


i never install a window without one
Tom Struble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:58 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


Thanks guys- I got it figured out- ripping the trim thickness worked wonders!
toolingaround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 08:53 PM   #8
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,580
Default

Drip Cap necessary if there's no siding above window?


Tooling,
The job I just finished involved tearing apart a sunroom and installing 9 new anderson double hungs, with azek trim around everything on the outside. I ripped the shallow rabbets in them and everything went up well. I used ss trim screws to fasten it. The only thing and I'm sure you found out, is the azek dust gives static cling a new meaning. That stuff is everywhere. I had to vacuum my saws and stands when I was done. If it didn't have a motor on it, it got hosed off too.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Window Drip Edge nediver Building & Construction 3 05-13-2010 10:58 AM
Window Drip Cap- To Caulk or Not? gam7 Building & Construction 2 11-04-2009 11:49 AM
Problem with window and everything around it malfunction Building & Construction 3 05-26-2009 05:11 PM
Adding a window - cutting through Aluminum Siding -how to repair siding to look good? DyerWolf Building & Construction 6 12-22-2008 04:02 PM
Window is 4" narrower than RO, and Drip Cap ? yung-cheng Building & Construction 2 08-07-2008 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.