Drilling Multiple Holes In Studs - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


I am rewiring my house, and pulling alot of romex, as well as several cat 6 and coax home runs from each room. I have a question regarding drilling holes in studs. I know the holes can't be more than 40% of stud depth in a load bearing wall, or 60% through max of 2 consecutive double studs. I'm planning to drill mainly 1" holes in my 2x4 studs. I was wondering however how far apart the holes need to be from the edge of one hole to the edge of the next. Also, I assume it would be a bad idea to have two or three holes basically right on top of each other making say a 1 inch wide by 3 inch high oval, or kind of notch in the middle of the stud. My main issues are coming where I'm having to go over or under a window, or rout above a door. Where I only have like a foot between door and ceiling, and need to pull alot of wires through that small space.

Thanks,

Richard

Advertisement

rjschwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:34 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


Spacing is not too much an issue here with that size hole. However it is a good practice to keep electrical (high voltage lines) from the cable, tv and telephone. (low voltage lines) Keep these about 6" away from each other.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


Right. The spacing of electrical and my low voltage lines is what is causing the problem. I have to run a bunch of wires above a door, and under a window (4-6 coax and 12-14 Cat6). Under the window I have maybe a foot to run all those low voltage wires, and there are also a couple power wires running along a few inches from the floor. I'm thinking I will need probably 3 1" holes to run all that wire, and I was thinking if I drilled them right on top of each other so it became one 3" long 1" wide hole, I could easily fit everything, but wasn't sure about the structural integrity of running through multiple studs this way.

Richard
rjschwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


My thoughts if I were to do it and could find no other information out there. If its a load bearing wall. I would follow similar instructions that I had to do when drilling into my floor joists (I know not the same thing), but I would do something similar. It states that two holes in the same joist have to be at least 2x the distance of the larger diameter apart. So say one hole is 1" (in your case) and the other is 5/8". Leave at least a 2" gap between them. But then again its your house so your comfort level may require you to do much more research.
rdtour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


What about notching the wall then adding a nail plate? I know I can notch 25% of a load bearing wall, so 7/8", but how tall can the notch be?

Also I have read that holes cannot be located on the same section of stud as a notch or cut. What does this mean? What is a section of stud?

Finally, how far apart would notches have to be? Would a similar twice as far as the longest notch apply?
rjschwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:55 PM   #6
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


much better to drill holes and not make a notch. For the amount of wires you need 2 1" holes may be enough
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 02:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Drilling Multiple Holes in Studs


I figured holes were better, but I was thinking if you can make a 3 inch long notch that is 7/8" deep, why not be able to make a 3 inch long hole 7/8 - 1" wide in the middle. This seems like it would be more structurally sound than a notch.

Richard

Advertisement

rjschwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drilling Holes Through Foundation quickquestion Building & Construction 3 01-10-2010 01:42 AM
Drilling holes through studs paul_arc Electrical 17 05-20-2009 05:23 PM
Engineering help request: drilling holes in a deck joist, supported by a post Deck Building & Construction 14 05-31-2008 11:16 PM
drilling vent holes ape Roofing/Siding 4 10-15-2007 05:36 PM
Drilling through multiple studs dailo Carpentry 7 10-05-2007 09:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts