Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2007, 08:09 AM   #1
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Share |
Default

Double Vapour Barrier?


Hi all,

Going to renovate a basement which has walls insulated half way down by the builder. I am planning to fully insulate to the floor and install a vapour barrier. Question is, can I leave the existing barrier up (which would result in 2 barriers) or will this cause any moisture issues?

Thanks all.

canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:26 AM   #2
with Mrs. Jeep
 
JeepCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jayhawk Country
Posts: 17
Default

Double Vapour Barrier?


Opinions vary GREATLY on this....

I wouldn't do this because I'd be afraid the possible moisture could get trapped in the wall. IMO, it needs a way to escape... but like I said, your mileage may vary...

JeepCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Levittown, Pa.
Posts: 513
Default

Double Vapour Barrier?


I aggree with jeepcop. The issues between above and below grade walls as to insulation installs are differant. See the following:

http://www.buildingscience.com/resou...stems-2002.pdf
rjordan392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:30 AM   #4
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 3,707
Default

Double Vapour Barrier?


What type of insulation do you have in place on the upper portion?

If you are in Canada, you may have to face the concept of the magic line running around the basement at the grade elevation. It does not exist in most other places due to lateral heat flow in conductive materials and the moderating effects of the soil.

Building Science has some intersting concepts. Good luck applying them to an existing real life installation.

If your existing insulation just fiberglass you can slash the paper/poly frequently to eliminate the concept of a vapor barrier.

You will find there are as many concepts as there are thinkers, inventers and conditions. Look to someone in your area that has a basement sucessfully finished for a real life example.
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 05:42 PM   #5
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

Double Vapour Barrier?


ty all for the responses. Yes, it is in Canada where they insulate only to the frost level. I was afraid of a possible moisture lock so I think I will cut the old VB..it makes sense but always appreciate others' opinions.
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moisture behind vapour barrier piperboy General DIY Discussions 9 10-21-2008 12:49 PM
Vapour Barrier mhervy General DIY Discussions 4 10-19-2006 01:07 PM
moisture barrier - help! jediracer Carpentry 12 10-03-2006 06:32 PM
Vapour Barrier Around Pot Light Box mhervy Electrical 4 10-03-2006 03:29 PM
Is this a double vapour barrier or not? KUIPORNG Remodeling 11 09-29-2006 10:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.